Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde Wins Trust Vote Quite Easily

During the special session of the Legislative Assembly, the Eknath Shinde-led Maharashtra government wins the trust vote with the majority post two weeks of political disorder in the state. The newly formed Shiv Sena-BJP government has received 164 votes in its kitty while 99 MLAs have voted against them.

On the other hand, Uddhav Thackeray’s group of Shiv Sena has filed a new petition in the Apex Court against the new assembly speaker, Rahul Nawekar. The current strength of the Assembly is lessened to 287 after the death of Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke, making the majority mark 144.

Also, surprisingly, just before the trust vote, two MLAs shifted their loyalty to the Shinde group in the last 24 hours. The Shinde government now has the support of MLA Shyamsundar Shinde. Noticing the crisis getting no solution, the Shiv Sena President – Uddhav Thackeray – resigned as Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Monday.

After Thackeray stepped down, Eknath Shinde took oath as a new Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Thursday while Devendra Fadnavis vowed as a Deputy Chief Minister of the state. Interestingly, the Shiv Sena – the Uddhav Thackeray faction – has called a meeting on Monday afternoon at Shiv Sena Bhavan in Mumbai.

Uddhav Thackeray’s government had led to the fall within 2.5 years as Shinde’s revolt became such a big setback for them. It would be interesting to see what would happen in the coming days in the politics of Maharashtra.