G20 New Delhi: Who’s In, Who’s Out, and What’s on the Agenda

New Delhi is set to host the G20 Summit this weekend, bringing together some of the world’s most influential leaders to address pressing global issues. 

The Group of Twenty, often referred to as the G20, is a prominent international forum comprising governments and central bank governors. Its name is derived from its 20 member nations, which collectively represent a substantial portion of the world’s economic power. Established in 1999, the G20’s primary goal is to facilitate discussions on policies related to international financial stability.

Beyond its financial focus, the G20 has evolved into a crucial platform for addressing a wide range of global challenges. These include combating terrorism, tackling human trafficking, addressing climate change, and promoting sustainable development. With member nations collectively representing approximately 85% of global GDP, over 75% of global trade, and two-thirds of the world’s population, the G20 wields significant influence on the world stage.

India’s G20 Presidency: Shaping Human-Centric Development

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s excitement about India’s G20 presidency reflects a broader commitment to shaping a more inclusive and equitable global agenda. The theme of “human-centric development” underscores the nation’s dedication to putting people at the forefront of decision-making and development efforts.

Under India’s leadership, the 18th G20 Summit is expected to prioritize several key areas:

  1. Economic Recovery: As the world grapples with the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic, the summit will focus on strategies for economic recovery and revitalization, particularly for the most vulnerable populations.
  2. Sustainable Development: India aims to promote sustainable and inclusive growth, addressing critical issues such as poverty alleviation, gender equality, and access to education and healthcare.
  3. Climate Change: Climate change mitigation and adaptation efforts will feature prominently on the agenda, aligning with global goals to combat the climate crisis.
  4. Global Health: The G20 will also deliberate on strengthening global health infrastructure and pandemic preparedness to prevent future health crises.
  5. Digital Transformation: In an increasingly digital world, discussions will revolve around harnessing technology for the betterment of societies while ensuring digital inclusion for all.

Below is the comprehensive roster of participants, those not in attendance, and the countries actively engaged in the G20 event.


1. Joe Biden: The US President, Joe Biden, will participate in the summit. His agenda includes discussions on the social impact of the Ukraine war, clean energy transition, climate change, and bolstering multilateral banks’ efforts to combat poverty.

2. Rishi Sunak: UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak will make his first official trip to India for the summit.

3. Fumio Kishida: Japan’s Prime Minister, also the current G7 chair, is expected to lead criticism against Russia concerning the Ukraine war.

4. Justin Trudeau: Canada’s Prime Minister will join the summit after a prior engagement in Indonesia.

5. Emmanuel Macron: The French President will attend and engage in bilateral talks with Prime Minister Modi.

6. Anthony Albanese: Australia’s Prime Minister will be part of a three-country tour, including India, Indonesia, and the Philippines.

7. Olaf Scholz: Germany’s Chancellor reaffirmed the summit’s importance despite the absence of Russia and China.

8. Yoon Suk Yeol: South Korea’s President is likely to address North Korea’s nuclear threats and missile provocations.

9. Cyril Ramaphosa: South Africa’s President will attend the summit.

10. Recep Tayyip Erdogan: Turkey’s President will also be present at the event.


1. Xi Jinping: Chinese President Xi Jinping will be notably absent, marking the first time a Chinese president has missed a G20 leaders’ summit since its inception in 2008. Premier Li Qiang will lead the Chinese delegation.

2. Vladimir Putin: Russian President Vladimir Putin’s absence is linked to an ICC arrest warrant for alleged war crimes in Ukraine. Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov will represent Russia.

3. Pedro Sanchez: Spain’s President Pedro Sanchez, who tested positive for COVID-19, will not attend the summit.

4. Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador: Mexico’s President will also be absent from the event.


India has extended invitations to leaders from non-G20 countries, strengthening the summit’s global reach. These include leaders from:

1. Bangladesh
2. The Netherlands
3. Nigeria
4. Egypt
5. Mauritius
6. Oman
7. Singapore
8. Spain
9. United Arab Emirates

Additionally, representatives from prominent international organizations such as the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund, and the World Bank will participate in the summit, contributing to discussions on various global challenges.


The G20 Summit in New Delhi is expected to address a range of pressing issues:

1. Geopolitical Tensions: Leaders will discuss the ongoing conflicts, particularly the Ukraine war, and explore avenues for resolution and peace.
2. Economic Slowdowns: The summit will focus on strategies to revitalize global economies, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic’s lingering economic impact.
3. Climate Change: Climate change mitigation and clean energy transition will be central to discussions as nations strive to meet climate commitments.
4. Rising Food and Energy Prices: The leaders will tackle the challenges posed by soaring food and energy prices, seeking solutions to alleviate the burden on vulnerable populations.

The G20 Summit in New Delhi promises to be a crucial gathering of global leaders, addressing a diverse array of challenges ranging from geopolitics to climate change. While some notable leaders are absent due to various reasons, the summit’s inclusive approach, involving non-G20 nations and international organizations, underscores the importance of international cooperation in overcoming global crises. The world will be watching closely as these influential leaders converge in the heart of India’s capital to chart a path toward a more stable and prosperous global future.